Bumrah overstepped his mark against Pakistan in the final of Champions Trophy © ICC/Twitter


Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar reckoned that the no-ball bowled by Jasprit Bumrah during the final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 against Pakistan will haunt him for a long time. Bumrah got the better of Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman, who edged a ball to Mahendra Singh Dhoni when he was batting on 3. The umpire wanted to check the no-ball and the replays clearly showed that Bumrah had overstepped his mark. Zaman made full use of the opportunity as he went to score his maiden ODI century and was only dismissed after scoring 111 more runs.

“The no-ball bowled by Bumrah will haunt him,” Gavaskar told NDTV.

But he also saw the bright side of India thrashing Pakistan 7-1 in the Hockey World League Semi-Final 2017 to earn their third straight win in the tournament on Sunday.

With the win, India maintain their top spot in Group B (nine points from three wins) while Pakistan remain sixth with no points. Talking about India’s victory in hockey, “Loved the way India beat Pakistan in hockey,” Gavaskar said.

India captain Virat Kohli witnessed a rare failure in the final of the Champions Trophy when he was dismissed by Mohammad Amir on 5. “Indians need to realise that Virat is human,” added Gavaskar when asked about Kohli’s failure with the bat.

An inspired Pakistan hammered a blundering India by 180 runs to lift the ICC Champions Trophy, riding on that scintillating hundred from Zaman and a sensational bowling spell from Mohammad Amir.

“Winning the Champions Trophy would mean the world to Pakistan,” Gavaskar felt.

Source link

LEAVE A REPLY